The fall season calls homebodies to venture outside to enjoy the fresh air and fall foliage unfolding in their area. If you’re lucky enough to have covered bridges near you, these historic structures evoke the season of fall and a simpler life lived once upon a time. Each bridge has its unique place in history and is a great spot for photos to be taken and picnics to be had.
Did you know that Hunterdon County has the only covered bridge in New Jersey? Spend some time learning about Green Sergeant’s Covered Bridge while having a picnic or fishing to enjoy the outdoors! We also included the 12 covered bridges of Bucks County, Pennsylvania to travel to across the Delaware River. Go on an adventure and discover these hidden gems!
Hunterdon’s Own Green Sergeant’s Covered Bridge
707 Rosemont Ringoes Rd, Stockton, NJ 08559
Green Sergeant’s is the last standing covered bridge in the state of New Jersey! The worn wooden panels on the side show the bridge’s history. It was originally built in 1872, helping horse and buggy traffic go through over the Wickecheoke Creek. Later, cars utilized the bridge as well but wore down the structure over time, so much so that the bridge had to be rebuilt in 1961. Green Sergeant’s 84-foot covered bridge only operates for westbound traffic and another concrete bridge was built next to it for cars to travel in both directions.
Across the Delaware: The 12 Covered Bridges of Bucks County
Schofield Ford Covered Bridge
Inside Tyler State Park: 101 Swamp Rd, Newtown, PA 18940
Tyler State Park is made up of 1,711 acres of discoverable land from hiking trails, park roads, houses, farmland, the Neshaminy Creek, and of course, the covered bridge. The covered bridge is set back in the densely wooded area of the park and it’s accessible to hike, walk, run, bike, or ride a horse to get there! It’s a picturesque photoshoot spot, as well as a popular fishing spot.
Pine Valley Covered Bridge
Old Iron Hill Road, Chalfont, Pa 18914
Visit Bucks County’s second-oldest bridge built in 1842! The bridge crosses the Pine Creek Run and is a great spot to view some of the county’s fall foliage. It’s also a great bridge to discover at night, as it’s often lit up by lights!
Mood’s Covered Bridge
Blooming Glen Road, Perkasie, Pa 18944
Get in the fall mood at Mood’s — one of the most utilized bridges in the county with an average of 2,000 passing cars per day! Therefore, it’s one of the most heavily structured bridges in town to help transport vehicles for many years to come.
South Perkasie Covered Bridge
Lenape Park Walnut Street, Perkasie, Pa 18944
The third-oldest town lattice bridge in the country is right here in Bucks! It was constructed in 1832, the oldest in the county, and has seen many footprints and tire tracks over the years, transporting those across Pleasant Spring Creek. Unfortunately, the bridge is temporarily closed as the bridge needed repairs and later sustained damage from Hurricane Ida last year. A plan to restore the bridge is in place and more information and donation information can be found here.
1832 South Perkasie Covered Bridge
Photo Credit: Perkasie Historical Society Donald Maurer Collection
Upper Black Eddy
Uhlerstown Covered Bridge
Uhlerstown Road, Tinicum, Pa 19029
Cross the Delaware Canal from the courtesy of the Uhlerstown Covered Bridge! On your walk, run, or bike ride along the canal, check out this piece of history in Bucks. Unlike the other covered bridges, Uhlerstown has two sets of windows on either side of the bridge’s midpoint. It was also founded in its name after Michael Uhler, who founded the town and was a canal boat builder and the first postmaster for Uhlerstown.
Knecht’s Covered Bridge
Knecht’s Road, Springfield, Pa 18081
Painted with the signature red and white entry panel, Knecht’s is also known as “Slifer’s Bridge.” The bridge is located in what once was known as Slifer Valley, an area where German settlers resided in the early 1700s. Be sure to also check out the stone farm homes surrounding the area to see more historic gems in Bucks!
Sheard’s Covered Bridge
Covered Bridge Road, Perkasie, Pa 18944
Built in 1873, this covered bridge is one of the county’s longer bridges, stretching 130 feet long and 15 feet wide. At the time, several covered bridges were constructed near mills for farmers’ sake. For instance, this bridge is near a mill featured on the National Register and was owned by John Clymer who grind grain for feed and apples for cider back in the day!
Van Sant Covered Bridge
Covered Bridge Rd, New Hope, PA 18938
What looks simply like a covered bridge isn’t just so underneath. The Van Sant bridge holds a story – a legend – where a young woman became pregnant out of wedlock and her family did not accept her for it. As a result, she goes to the nearby bridge and kills her child and then herself. It’s one of the “crybaby bridges” of the United States and is now rumored to be haunted, hearing the cries of the baby at night. For those that are thrill seekers in this opportune Halloween time, be sure to check out this historic 1875 covered bridge!
Van Sant Covered Bridge
Photo Credit: Bridget Reilly
Frankenfield Covered Bridge
Hollow Horn & Caffrey Roads, Tinicum, Pa 18920
The nameplate at Frankenfield will inform you that the bridge was built in 1872 and is one of the longest covered bridges in Bucks at 130 feet long and 12 feet wide. It stands across Tinicum Creek which flows two miles up from where the creek meets the Delaware River.
Erwinna Covered Bridge
Geigel Hill Road, Tinicum, Pa 18920
Visit the county’s shortest covered bridge of them all, built only 56 feet long and 15 feet wide. The red and white Bucks bridge was built in the 1800s and stretches across Lodi Creek, also known as Swamp Creek.
Cabin Run Covered Bridge
Covered Bridge Road, Plumstead, Pa 18949
Built across Cabin Creek, the bridge has a length of 82 feet and was built in 1871. The creek’s name goes back to a time in Bucks’s history when small log cabins and stone homes filled the path of the creek.
Loux Covered Bridge
Carversville Rd, Pipersville, PA 18947
Unlike the red and white covered bridges in Bucks, Loux is the only bridge painted all white and is the second of the two bridges crossing Cabin Run Creek. A stone marker on the bridge identifies the all-white bridge as the “Cabin Run Bridge” however, it’s not. Loux is also the second-shortest bridge in the county at 60 feet long and 15 feet wide.